Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
18 septembre 2011 7 18 /09 /septembre /2011 20:56

Dear readers,

 

Chers lecteurs,

 

Good news: your comments about the remodeling going on at my Little White House have really lifted me up.

Bad news: there's a problem with over-blog lately and it's nearly impossible to comment... We're trying to fix the problem... Congratulations to the few people who managed to comment during the couple seconds a day when it's possible! Maybe you should play the lottery...

 

Bonne nouvelle: les commentaires récemment m'ont vraiment touché et fait chaud au coeur au milieu des difficultés que représentent les travaux.

Mauvaise nouvelle: over-blog connait visiblement un bug côté commentaires...

 

Good news: I've dreamed of a china cabinet for years now. And suddenly something looking exactly as I wanted my china cabinet to look like appeared on "Le Bon Coin" (something like Craig's List) and it wasn't even expensive! I contacted the seller and he said he could deliver it to me... Picture me here jumping all around the living-room... I may even have jumped on the sofa (I mean, since I didn't buy a new one, why not?)

Indeed my biggest problem when I find second-hand furniture is the delivery... I can't really lift sturdy furniture on my own nor fit it in my small European-sized car. That's when I think mariage could be useful...

 

IMGP3651.JPG

 

 

What are you saying? What's that smell? ... The seller was a fishmonger and he brought the china cabinet in his truck... Life on the seaside... It took a couple of days before the wood got rid of the smell...

 

I removed the curtains  the previous owner had added on the top doors, waxed the whole thing inside and out.

 

IMGP3653.JPG

 

And this is were you notice that something has (will have ) to be done with the table: the varnish on it make it way too orangey next to the waxed wood of the cabinet...  Also yes, I need to find wall lamps, but I can't find something I like enough to buy!

 

IMGP3718.JPG

 

The reason I wanted the cabinet to be light wood: I don't want to paint it because I love the way white china looks on it... Yes, believe me, it looks beautiful... even if the pictures are crappy because it's been raining for two days... My camera doesn't like that kind of light.

 

Now I should be the happiest cabinet owner in the whole world... Except for...

 

Bad news:

The drywall that makes the fireplace in the living-room (you may remember it from the previous post) must be torn down... I realized the workers "forgot" to support the old wall that's behind and that was in a piteous state... - Good news in the middle of the bad news: it's a good thing I realized it before the wall and therefore the house collapsed!

Still it means more dust...

 

More on that later...

 

 

 

 

Magali, from the Little White House

 

Partying at:

Making The World Cutter

 

 

 

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

P
<br /> Love your china cabinet, it's delightful. Empathising with you over house repairs and associated mess/chaos - we're in the middle of trying to scrape/fill/sand and paint our main living areas.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
P
<br /> I hope you get this as I feel my way through, (I'm so sorry, I've no French at all). I love your writing style, a really great blog. Thanks for visiting me.It was lovely to meet you. I will be<br /> back, hope you will too!<br /> Hugs,<br /> Patti<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
M
<br /> I haven't had any commenting trouble...I'm off to buy my lottery ticket!!!<br /> <br /> And wow!! What a find, you lucky girl!! It's LOVELY!!<br /> <br /> Sarahx<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
H
<br /> So sorry to hear about your wall. But your newest piece is absolute perfection, and the fish smell makes for a great story!! XOL<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre

Welcome, Dear Readers!

  • : Le blog de littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • Contact

Me, Myself... And The House!

  • littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...

The Little White House was featured...

DIYprojectparadeFEATUREDMEBUTTON

My Cousin's etsy shop

Love vintage + French clothing? Run there!

iusa_75x75.9546429.jpg

Archives

letter box

Catégories

Time is running out...

What's the weather like here?