Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
12 juillet 2011 2 12 /07 /juillet /2011 13:43

Dear readers,

 

Chers lecteurs,

 

You may remember that July was the month of the first phase of the Little White House's remodeling (out of 50-something phases...). Well, it's not going so well and I'm experiencing some problems.

 

Vous vous souvenez peut-être que juillet est le mois de lancement de la première phase de travaux dans ma petite maison. Tout ne se passe pas très bien.

 

I will tell you all about it... But I need a little time to know how to write about it without being too mean towards the previous owners (I wouldn't want the blog to be rated PG because of its language!!!).

 

Je vous en parlerai dès que j'aurai réussi à trouver des mots pas trop insultants pour les précédents propiétaires...

 

If you're wondering why I haven't written for a while and haven't commented on your blogs for a while, it's for the exact same reason. The Internet was down at home and also I had to pack and come live with my parents'... But now, I've found a way to get the Internet on my laptop at my parent's.

 

Du coup, j'ai trouvé refuge pour quelques temps chez mes parents.

 

IMGP1618

 

Right before I left home, I was working on a tiny project that was huge for me as I had never redone a room before.

 

Mais juste avant de partir, je travaillais sur un petit projet qui était énorme pour moi qui suis débutante.

 

As I live in France, my toilets are not in the bathroom: they have their very own tiny room, that's actually the size of a closet, located opposite the bathroom in the upstair landing.

 

IMGP2434

 

Given the personality of the previous owners, you can guess that it was very colourful. And I decided to change that. The walls are all bumpy because I believe they were done a long, long time ago.

 

Comme à leur habitude, les précédents propriétaires avaient fait des toilettes une pièce bien colorée...

 

It took a lot of sanding to get rid of the fish and of the orange waves that were rather thick.


IMGP2436

 

 

Il a fallu pas mal poncer pour se débarrasser de la surépaisseur des nombreux poissons et des vagues... orange...


IMGP3036

 

I also had to put something on the damages on the wall... I had never done that before, so I was really worried about it.

 

IMGP2442

 

Il a aussi fallu enduire un peu, ce qui était une grande première pour moi...

 

And then I primed and painted...

 

IMGP3081

 

The plinths, door and ceiling (or slanted ceiling) are white. The walls are a beige/greige colour that was called "Ivory #6", though I really think it has nothing to do with ivory.

 

Les plinthes, porte et plafond sont blancs et les murs sont beiges.

 

There was no way I could paint behind the toilets as I didn't know how to remove them (give me time, I'm just a beginner), so I applied some wallpaper, swearing quite a lot as it was really hard to work in such a small space...

 

IMGP3083

 

Un peu de papier peint derrière les toilettes... Et pas mal de juron pour atteindre cet espace un peu étroit... Vous savez pourquoi Valérie Damidot ne refait jamais des toilettes dans son émission? Eh, ben, moi, je sais maintenant!

 

You may notice that because the junction between the two walls is so bumpy, it was very difficult to cut the paper straight... But that was my first try with real wallpaper.

 

There's still work to do in this tiny closet: I need a proper light fixture, a shelf above the toilet and something to hold the toilet paper... But that's the state the room is now, when I had to leave the house... More on that in a few days...

 

Il reste du boulot: une lampe digne de ce nom, une étagère, un dérouleur... Mais à ce moment-là, j'ai dû évacuer ma petite maison...

 

IMGP3082

 

 

Magali, from her parents’ house

 

 

Joining the following parties...

anything related TuesdayTuesday's Treasure - Uncommon Slice Suburbiath wowuswedpartygood-life-wednesday-a-beach-cottage2

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

M
<br /> I can't tell you how impressed I am with your wall-papering. That looks like a total nightmare to get the wallpaper up - and yet you've managed to do a great job.<br /> Beginner?!! Pah!!! You are a toal pro!!<br /> <br /> Sarahx<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
L
<br /> <br /> Your comments always make me blush...<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
A
<br /> For your first project, you did an excellent job! Love the new wall colours. Thanks for stopping by and sharing at Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
M
<br /> Ce petit coin est maintenant bien charmant... alors du courage, tu pourras bientôt retourner dans ta petite maison blanche !<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
R
<br /> Yeah you have access to the internet now! You are the only other person I know that has a small closet for a toilet. You however have a higher ceiling so I would assume it is less claustrophobic.<br /> Love the new colors! Yeah you! Great job!<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre

Welcome, Dear Readers!

  • : Le blog de littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • Contact

Me, Myself... And The House!

  • littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...

The Little White House was featured...

DIYprojectparadeFEATUREDMEBUTTON

My Cousin's etsy shop

Love vintage + French clothing? Run there!

iusa_75x75.9546429.jpg

Archives

letter box

Catégories

Time is running out...

What's the weather like here?