Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
2 août 2011 2 02 /08 /août /2011 14:08

Dear readers,

 

Chers lecteurs,

 

hedgehog.jpg

You may think that I've completely lost my mind due to all the pressure involved by the renovation.

 

Le titre de l'article vous fait peut-être croire que j'ai perdu la tête à cause du stress des travaux. Pas tout à fait.

 

Well, I lack some sleep, obviously, but no, the title does not mean that this blog is reorientated on wild animals.

 

"Hedgehog" is just the name, in French, of something that's been done to my house.

 

IMGP3165.JPG

 

You may remember that during the small renovation that was planned, we discovered that the floor was in a pitiful state. Decision was made to get rid of it all...

 

Peut-être vous souvenez-vous que nous avons découvert une dalle presque inexistante dans la maison et que j'ai pris la décision de la refaire faire (euh, oui, mes capacités de bricoleuse s'arrêtent là).

 

IMGP3253.JPG

 

And then to dig so that the new floor should be thicker than the previous one.

 

It was a sad thing to visit the house in this state.

 

On a donc défait tout ce qu'il y avait, puis creuser pour faire quelque chose de plus épais qu'avant.

 

IMGP3299.JPG

 

Once everything was leveled, the new electric wires were installed. Above, you can see what used to be the kicthen and the dining-room.

 

Quand tout le sol a été suffisamment profond, les nouveaux cables électriques ont été passés.

 

IMGP3321.JPG

 

Then, they put a draining system on the perimeter of the house (sorry, forgot the camera that day). After, the hedgehog was done. It's such a cute name for a bed of rocks.

 

C'est alors que le hérisson rentre en jeu. Un joli petit nom pour une épaisse couche de cailloux qui a été étalée sur le sol après que le drainage a été terminé.

 

IMGP3388.JPG

 

Finally the new concrete foundation slab was ready! It might sound stupid, but the day I came to visit the house and see the slab that had been done the previous day, I was as excited as if it was a first date!

 

Enfin, la nouvelle dalle a été coulée et j'étais aussi excitée que pour un premier rendez-vous le jour où je suis venue à la maison pour voir ce nouveau sol.

 

This week the walls are to be built back... and of course there's been a new little problem to be dealt with... But that's for an other post!

 

 

 

Magali, from the Little White House

 

 

Tuesday's Treasure - Uncommon Slice Suburbia

 

 

 

 

 

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

S
<br /> That is a lovely, happy name for what I imagine must have been rather stressful. Floors up makes such a huuuuuuuge mess. No wonder it felt like first date territory when it was done!<br /> <br /> You're leaping along with the renovations. Well done!<br /> <br /> Sarahx<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
A
<br /> The progress is looking good :) Thanks for sharing at Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
P
<br /> With all the work you have happening at "home" it seems you needed your little trip to Australia. You will find more Australian flowers and scenes if you have time to visit again.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
L
<br /> <br /> Oh, I will visit again. Your pictures are so gorgeous!<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
R
<br /> I was sooo hoping for baby hedgehogs. Glad things are no long hedgehogged there.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
L
<br /> <br /> Sorry! I do have hedgehogs in my garden... But I never got the chance to take a picture of them. They are very shy and very difficult to spot and only go out when it's dark... <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
M
<br /> Maintenant, tu as un beau hérisson ! On attend avec impatience de voir la suite ! Courage !<br /> Mam<br /> anne-marie-desplat-duc.over-blog.com<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre

Welcome, Dear Readers!

  • : Le blog de littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • Contact

Me, Myself... And The House!

  • littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...

The Little White House was featured...

DIYprojectparadeFEATUREDMEBUTTON

My Cousin's etsy shop

Love vintage + French clothing? Run there!

iusa_75x75.9546429.jpg

Archives

letter box

Catégories

Time is running out...

What's the weather like here?