Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
19 décembre 2010 7 19 /12 /décembre /2010 16:02

 

 

On our last day of school, it was snowing (yes, again!) pretty bad when I drove back home, so rather than waiting for the next day, I stopped on my way home to buy a tree. I mean, we could have been stuck at home all weekend! Actually, this time, we just had an inch of snow...

 

Le dernier jour d'école, je suis rentrée sous la neige (et oui, encore!). Du coup, je me suis arrêtée en chemin pour acheter mon sapin, de peur d'être encore bloquée par la neige par la suite et de ne pas pouvoir me conformer à la tradition qui veut que mon sapin soit fait le premier weekend des vacances!

 

And tadaam!

 

Et voilà!

 

IMGP2257

 

By night...

 

IMGP2230

 

It's quite tiny as a) it had to fit in my tiny car; b) I had to carry it on my own; c) I didn't want to buy new ornaments as I have more important house-related things to spend on.

Also, it tends to lean on the right but that's because a) it's natural; b) we had a little cat-cident yesterday!!!

 

IMGP2242

Il penche un peu du côté où il va tomber comme dirait ma Maman, mais c'est l'apanage des vrais sapins, et puis hier, nous avons eu un petit "chat-cident" qui n'a pas arrangé les choses!!!

 

IMGP2259

 

There is nothing glittery in it... Nearly everything is made of fabric or wood or paper... No plastic in my tree, please.

 

Je n'aime pas les paillettes dans mon arbre. Je trouve ça superbe quand je les vois en magasin, mais une fois chez moi, cela ne va pas avec l'atmosphère.

 

IMGP2264

 

All these ornaments I bought years ago when I lived in an apartment in the Parisian suburbs and had decorated it "cottage style" (I just didn't know it was called that at the time).

 

Toutes ces décorations ont des années et avaient été achetées à Castorama... Bref, rien de bien folichon, mais pile dans le style!

 

IMGP2266

I was already fond of hearts!!! It wasn't in fashion yet!!!

 

Tiens, j'étais déjà fan des coeurs!

 

IMGP2263

 

The only "expensive" ornament I own is this litlle angel-ballet dancer that I bought in Quebec some ten years ago (gosh, so long ago? - it seems like yesterday as I remember perfectly well the shop...)

 

Ma seule décoration un peu précieuse est cet(te) ange-ballerine, souvenir d'une journée passée à Québec...

 

IMGP2244

 

OK, I lied about the "not buying anything new this year"... I couldn't resist two too cute teddy bears.... The one above and the one below!

 

IMGP2265

 

D'accord, j'avoue, je n'ai pas tenu ma résolution "je n'achète rien de nouveau cette année". Ces deux petits oursons m'ont tendu les bras et je n'ai pas résisté...

 

IMGP2258

 

 

Thanks to everyone who stops by... I apologize for all the mistakes you might (will?) find both in English and French... I'm trying my best!

Wishing you all a very merry (and snowy) Christmas,

 

Little White House xxx

 

I'm linking this post to:

button4bmp-1and to:

image2-1-112

Je vous invite à découvrir plein d'articles passionnants en cliquant sur les sigles.


Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

M
<br /> I like trying to read the French too! I did French until I was 18 at school but now it's terribly rusty.<br /> <br /> What a beautifully decorated tree! I've always loved hearts - in fact, I felt a bit cross when they suddenly came into fashion!!<br /> <br /> And your little teddy bears are gorgeous!!<br /> <br /> Sarahx<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre

Welcome, Dear Readers!

  • : Le blog de littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • Contact

Me, Myself... And The House!

  • littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...

The Little White House was featured...

DIYprojectparadeFEATUREDMEBUTTON

My Cousin's etsy shop

Love vintage + French clothing? Run there!

iusa_75x75.9546429.jpg

Archives

letter box

Catégories

Time is running out...

What's the weather like here?