Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
6 janvier 2013 7 06 /01 /janvier /2013 18:13

Dear readers,

 

Chers lecteurs,

 

Tonight is the Twelfth Night, also known as "day of the Kings (Magi)" in France.

 

It's a family day where we eat a cake inside of which a lucky charm has been hidden. The person who finds the charm in his or her piece of cake is crowned king or queen for the day.

 

Galette_des_Rois.png

 

In Paris, the cake is called Gallette. It's made of pastry and almond dough.

 

images.jpg

 

In the south of France, though, it's traditional to eat a brioche in the shape of a crown.

 

Brioche.jpg

 

Sometimes with glacé fruits on top of it (my Mom's favourite).

 

Tortell.jpg

 

This year I tried to bake my own brioche. I found a recipe in a magazine with the glacé fruits inside.

 

Je vous passe les informations sur la galette dont vous n'avez pas besoin si vous êtes Français et je vous propose ma toute première brioche... Elle est un peu bancale, mais compte tenu du mini four avec lequel je travaille, je la trouve superbe!

 

IMGP5082.JPG

 

It's not really even... But if you remember that I have a very tiny cheap oven, I believe it's perfect.

 

You may notice that the glacé cherries are very dark and the glacé orange pieces very light. That's because I use oragnic ones without artificial colouring.

 

Ne vous étonnez pas de la couleur foncée des cerises confites ou au contraire de la couleur palotte des oranges et citrons confits. J'utilise des fruits sans colorants artificiels... Et au naturel, cela donne donc ça!

 

IMGP5083.JPG

 

It was delicous and I'll keep the recipe for next year... I'll just make some improvement from experience!

 

IMGP5084.JPG

 

I would show you the lucky charm if I could, but it hasn't been discovered yet!

 

If you noticed some white fabric on a chair in my first picture... It's supposed to be turned into kitchen curtains some day...

 

Magali, from The Little White House xxx

 

PPS: 1) All pictures were found on Google and taken from websites, rather than personal blogs. The last three are mine, taken with the dreadful light we've had seen 2013 began!

 

2) I'm bringing my brioche to the following parties:

 

sew chatty buttonTuesdaysTreasuresbutton

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

A
Your brioche looks delicious, and I love the pink tulips in the vase in the background! Thank you for your kind words over at my blog. The Shakespeare audition is for 5 theatre companies that do<br /> Shakespeare in the parks, so open-air theater. It's one audition but you are seen by all 5 companies, so 5-times the chances of getting cast! It's tough with Shakespeare, because he didn't write<br /> very many roles for middle-aged women, and of course men played all the women's roles back in his time, but we'll see what happens. I know they are casting for Midsummer Night's Dream, Macbeth,<br /> Merchant of Venice and Cymbeline, and others. I've been spending time with Macbeth the last few days, and there are some glorious monologues in that play! Have a happy January birthday, and I am<br /> with you--I will look forward to February as well!
Répondre
M
It might be uneven but it looks like it tasted wonderful. And that is really what counts.
Répondre
M
Elle a l'air super bonne, cette couronne des rois aux fruits confits bio... et effectivement, elle me rappelle celle de mon enfance.
Répondre

Welcome, Dear Readers!

  • : Le blog de littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • Contact

Me, Myself... And The House!

  • littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...

The Little White House was featured...

DIYprojectparadeFEATUREDMEBUTTON

My Cousin's etsy shop

Love vintage + French clothing? Run there!

iusa_75x75.9546429.jpg

Archives

letter box

Catégories

Time is running out...

What's the weather like here?