Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
10 novembre 2012 6 10 /11 /novembre /2012 17:51

Dear readers,

 

Chers lecteurs,

 

It's funny how really tiny things can throw a whole idea off.

 

A few months ago, I discovered that the first floor of my house had to be entirely redone.

 

 

So all the walls were torn done. I wasn't sad to get rid of the sliding door cupboard whose sliding doors only slide once a week... Always nice when you need a scarf in a hurry in the wee hours of the morning...

 

Il y a quelques mois, quand j'ai découvert qu'il fallait refaire tout le sol de ma maison et donc tomber toutes les cloisons, j'ai dit sans émotion au revoir à ce placard à portes coulissantes que je détestais et dont les portes n'avaient de coulissantes que le nom!

 

IMGP3103.JPG

 

At some point it looked like this...

 

IMGP3251.JPG

 

Yes, the cupboard used to be where the broom is. And, yes, I know it's completely useless to get your broom out when you're floor is this messy!

 

 

Mais, non le balai n'a pas l'air du tout ridicule dans tout ce bazar!

A ce moment-là, il a fallu refaire le plan avec les nouvelles cloisons, portes, prises, interrupteurs et autres appliques.

 

At that point I was asked to draw them a blueprint with the new walls and the new electricty system.

 

I took me a few sleepless nights to think of where it was usefull to have doors, sockets, switches...

 

And I remember very well I thought it would be convenient to have two scokets at the entrance of the house...

 

Je me rappelle très bien avoir prévu des prises dans l'entrée parce que j'imaginais bien une petite lampe sur un buffet. Sauf, que les ouvriers m'avaient oublié ces deux prises... La semaine dernière, j'ai craqué et j'ai fait revenir un éléctricien.

 

But the electrician forgot those two... So for a while, the wall that's on the left side of the front door looked like this...

 

mao 086

 

I meant left side when you come in... So obviously to the right on this picture...

 

It was already an improvement... which scared my "borrowed cat"!

 

But I really wanted a lamp on that sideboard. So last week I called an electrician and had the sockets redone.

 

IMGP4780

 

I took that picture in the evening so that the lamp seemed to have a meaning!

 

Now can you see that very French and very vintage handbag of mine? Have a closer look...

 

IMGP4781edited.jpg

 

 

If you like French and vintage handbag, don't forget to visit La Minuinette, a great etsy shop where you'll find what you're looking for.

 

The lamp was found by my mother on the side of the road... Some neighbours thought it was trash...

 

IMGP1915.JPG

 

But I thought it was like no other.

 

Cette lampe avait été jetée par des voisins de mes parents, mais ma maman a tout de suite pensé qu'il fallait la sauver. Merci Maman!

 

IMGP4785edited.jpg

 

I mean, look at the base!

 

IMGP4784.JPG

 

This is not a picture perfect before/after... It's more like a before/in between...

 

This wall still needs:

  • painting! (it's not white, it's only primer!)
  • new baseboard
  • new or rather old sideboard (I'm browsing the Internet everyday, till I find THE ONE)
  • something above the sideboard... I have several ideas... Don't tell me this wall is blah for now, I know!
  • a blooming amaryllis! That would be better than those two green sticks...

Thanks for visiting my Little White House and come back later to check on the renovation and on the blooming of the amaryllis!

 

IMGP4783edited.jpg

 

Magali, from the Little White House xxx

 

 

PS: Yesterday at an attic sale, I found some old engraving that could be perfect above the sideboard...

 

 

DIY-project-parade-button

 

A Return To Loveliness

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TuesdaysTreasuresbutton

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

A
I love your lamp and the gorgeous French purse--beautiful! Glad that you enjoyed my little "tree," and I can't wait to see your real tree when it's time. Have a lovely weekend!
Répondre
K
Our home is old and needs some electrical work - we've gone through some renovations too and I know how it feels to want to clean things up during demolition - the room looks lovely now and I am<br /> glad you were able to get an electrician to put an outlet so that you could display that amazing lamp! Imagine - someone threw it away - it is beautiful! I do appreciate you sharing with A Return<br /> to Loveliness,<br /> Katy
Répondre
M
Oui, cette lampe a du chien ! Enfin du chat... puisqu'on est dans une maison de chat. Tu en as vraiment fait quelque chose de chic !
Répondre

Welcome, Dear Readers!

  • : Le blog de littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • Contact

Me, Myself... And The House!

  • littlewhitehouse.over-blog.com
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...
  • I've been looking for a house for some time now... And I think I found it! The thing is it needs a lot of work to be transformed from a house to &quot;my&quot; home. I've been looking for ideas on everybody's blogs, so i thought I could begin one of my own...

The Little White House was featured...

DIYprojectparadeFEATUREDMEBUTTON

My Cousin's etsy shop

Love vintage + French clothing? Run there!

iusa_75x75.9546429.jpg

Archives

letter box

Catégories

Time is running out...

What's the weather like here?